How to prevent Facebook account cloning

How to prevent Facebook cloning

A number of my Facebook friends have had their account cloned recently and it’s caused them a lot of stress because they believe they’ve been hacked.

Unfortunately, this has happened to people who either aren’t tech savvy or perhaps haven’t even looked at their Facebook settings to ensure they’re not sharing their entire personal information & content with the world.

To help people with this I researched how Facebook accounts are cloned and created the video below to guide people through the process of tightening up their security settings and hence preventing their Facebook account from being at risk of this.

The video takes you through each step you need to perform in order to protect your account but if you cannot watch the video I’ve listed the steps below so you can run through them in your own time.

But first, let me explain what this cloning is and how it’s happening. The main thing to know is that you haven’t been hacked. They do not have your accounts details and password. What they’ve done is create an account and used your name & profile picture to make a duplicate account (i.e. it looks exactly like you). They’ve then accessed your friends list and started sending friend requests to your friends. Why? Probably to message them and try and get some kind of private information from them (i.e. trick them into getting financial account details etc).

This isn’t a personal attack. They’re simply looking at accounts which have their security settings set to Public. This means your profile, profile picture and list of people you’re friends with are widely available to anyone. This is what we’re going to fix. The steps below or in my video make sure that only your friends can see this information, and that will prevent your account from being cloned.

Prevent Facebook Cloning: Video

Prevent Facebook Cloning: Instructions

  1. Log in to Facebook
  2. Go to Settings
  3. Select Privacy
  4. Select Edit next to Who can see your future posts?
  5. Make sure Friends is selected
  6. Select Close
  7. Click on your name at the top of the page
  8. Select Friends from the menu under your cover photo
  9. Select the pen/pencil icon to the right of the screen just above where your list of friends is shown
  10. Select Edit Privacy
  11. You’ll see two options:
    • Who can see your friends list?
    • Who can see the people, Pages and lists you follow?
  12. Select Only Me for both options

Your Facebook account is now secure.

We have now protected your Facebook account so that the only people who you’re friends with have can see your posts and only you can see the people you’re friends with.

If you have any questions on this or if you’re like to share any additional information on Facebook privacy please do leave a comment below!

I hope this helped!

 

Not another email sign-up form!

 

If you'd like to receive my valuable tips and information on Digital Marketing then please subscribe to my newsletter!

 

Best Regards, Simon.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This